My 15 Faves: Gym/Yoga Edition

This edition of #15Faves is dedicated to workout essentials. I tried to pull together the most useful (and affordable) workout products that I use on a regular basis. From gym bags to water bottles, you’ll find them all below.*

 

You will notice I only have ten items this week. I cut it down to 10 for this reason– the gym and workouts in general should be as ‘no fuss’ as possible. I really appreciate the minimalistic vibe that the gym or studio allow its goers. These ten items are all you need!

Enjoy


1. The Towel

(You need this towel.) Although any workout sweat towel will do the job, I found a really awesome microfiber towel from Lululemon, and it won’t break your bank! I originally bought this towel for my yoga class, to wipe my sweaty face after a ninety degreed power class… but I actually get a lot of use out of this at the gym as well. You can use this as a body towel or to wipe down sweaty machines before and after use. I bought the small towel on Lululemon for $9 on sale, full price they are $18, but worth every penny still. I’ve linked mine here. Lulu also sells a full size (think beach towel) that is great for hot yoga classes if you find that your hands and feet slip on your mat.) There are also similar alternatives, granted cheaper as well, on amazon. Here is my pick (set of two for $9.)

LU9416S_029797_1

2. A Good Water Bottle: Blender Bottle

All avid gym-goers have a Blender Bottle(s). Blender Bottles are great because they are not only affordable and versatile, they are available in every color and style. Not only can you use a Blender Bottle for hydration during a workout, you can use it for pre-workout or amino acids prior to your workout/lift, but also for recovery and protein after, if you’re into that. Whatever you use it for, Blender Bottles are a great choice when it comes to re-usable water bottles. Here’s my favorite.

CL28_New-Color-Shopping-Cart-FCPebble_grande

3. Sani-Wipes

Germ-a-phobes say ‘I’. Realistically though, gym’s and wellness clubs are chalk full of microbes, and not usually the good kind. Some of the most common bacteria and viruses found in fitness clubs are: human papillomavirus, e.coli and staphylococcus aureus. I don’t mean to scare you, but it is important to be aware of what’s around us, and more importantly how to keep them away from you. Hygiene in and around the gym or studio is most important, and one product that really helps me keep and feel clean are sani-wipes. I tend to use these mostly before and after a yoga practice, but they are so suitable for the gym too. I found this great brand on Amazon that makes sani-wipes that are individually wrapped, so great for a gym/yoga bag, or ever your school/ work bags! They’re dirt cheap and linked here.

4. Resistance Bands

The only thing I love more than a good workout, is a good workout that I can do anywhere. I do love my gym and the communal environment it fosters… but sometimes I just don’t want to leave my house. One product that has specifically stepped-up my at home workouts has been my resistance bands. My boyfriend (shoutout boyfriend) bought me these as part of my birthday gift last year, and I have loved them ever since. Resistance bands allow for a wider range of workouts, and I also like them because they allow me to get a workout in using my own body-weight, which I prefer over using machines. The set that I have has five bands: xtra-light, light, medium, heavy, and xtra-heavy resistances, they also came with a book that has all sorts of exercises to try. I mostly use them for resistance walks and different leg and ‘glute’ exercises. I’ve linked them here, $14.

5. Good Socks

This one doesn’t need too much explaining, but I definitely have noticed that good socks allow me to focus less on my feet and more on my workout. Find what works for you and stick with it. Socks don’t really go out of style…

6. Wireless headphones

I didn’t realize how great these were, until I tried them out myself. Never worrying about the cord getting caught or tangled has been a huge life-hack for me. Nothing will slow down your workout more than the annoyance of wired headphones. (These also double as great study headphones as well, because again, no cord. Here is a link to a pair of beats I bought my boyfriend for Christmas, he swears he loves them too.

ML8W2

 

7.  The Workout/Yoga Bag

One of the best ways to stay organized and complete during workouts is to have the perfect workout bag. The best thing about a workout bag is it allows you to carry way more than just what fits in your pockets, a huge plus. Those yoga wipes I talked about, your water bottle, those resistance bands and your sani-wipes… they’ll all fit. A change of clothes for breakfast out afterwards, deodorant and lots more…yep, they’ll all fit too. My sweet girlfriend Halle gifted me the best yoga/gym bag for Christmas two years ago, it’s hunter green and just perfect, but unfortunately not for sale anymore, I’ve linked a similar one here. And for any guys reading, I didn’t forget about you, here’s my men’s pick.

8. Makeup Wipes/Cleanser

Speaking only from personal experience, my skin really benefits from being makeup-free during workouts. I always try to take my make-up off before my workouts, another good essential to keep in your workout bag! After workouts, if I do not go directly home, I will wash my face at the gym, I try to keep a travel size cleanser (Cetaphil most days) and a clean washcloth to dry off with. This 100% has helped my skin stay clear and free of those cystic bumps. This is what I use!

 

9. The Playlist:

Besides a good pre-workout snack– one of the best things to keep you fueled is a playlist that matches your workouts. Spotify has GREAT workout playlists (they even have a workout genre.) This is great because we all prefer different music when we workout, just like how we all prefer different workout styles. If you’re a runner (and good for you for being a runner) play music with a bpm (beats per minute) equal to your steps per minute to keep you on pace! If you are finishing off heavy sets, pick a playlist to match! Get creative and listen to what you love: it can make all the difference!

 

10. The Notebook:

My last ‘fave’ this week is a journal or notebook.. at first this may not seem like a gym essential… but I promise it is. The best way to track progress is to log it. Whether you keep track of your workouts in an excel file, or old fashion pen and paper… make sure to document your journey! It’s a great way to see how far you’ve come!

 

That’s all for this week! What are some of your gym faves?

 

-xo

 

*Blondie Pharma is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. What does this mean to you? Anytime you buy something from a link on my blog, I receive a little bit of money from Amazon for the advertising. The goal of my blog is to bring you honest and true information and experiences, rather than sell you a product. Thanks!

 

 

Leave a comment